After you have clicked the Import Photos button in that first window, another window (Figure 14-2) will appear displaying the photos currently in your camera. In this window, you can do a little housecleaning and setup before actually saving photos to your hard disk.
If you would like to delete all of the photos on your camera after importing them, check the box next to the words Delete imported images from the camera. If you would like to delete only a few images before getting around to the business of importing, click on the image or images you want to delete (holding down the CTRL key if you are selecting more than one), and then click the Delete icon.
As you can see, there is also an option that allows you to keep the original filenames assigned by your camera. You no doubt understand what this means, so I'll tell you what not selecting this option means instead. When you import images from your digital camera, they will be saved in a folder and named in date-and-time format, such as 2006-02-19-19.08.13, while the images within that folder will be saved in numeric format, such as 0001.jpg, 0002.jpg, and so on. If you prefer to keep the filenames assigned by your camera (and as they appear in the Import Photos window), check the box next to Keep original filenames.
Finally, there is the question of where you save these date-and-time named folders. The default location is in your home folder, which is convenient enough; however, if you take a lot of photos, you will find that after some time your home folder contains so many folders full of imported images that it is difficult to find anything. Therefore, you may want to have your photos downloaded to a more specific location, such as a Photos folder.
To do this, click the drop-down menu button next to the word Destination, and select Other. This will bring up a Choose Destination Folder window. In that window, navigate to your Photos folder (or create one by clicking the Create Folder button in that window), and then select that folder by clicking it once. Once your selection is made, click the Open button, after which you will be returned to the Import Photos window with your new destination folder now listed in the Destination box at the top of the window.
Was this article helpful?