User Private Groups

A new user can be assigned to a special group set up for just that user and given the user's name. Thus the new user dylan is given a default group also called dylan. The group dylan will also show up in the listing of groups. This method of assigning default user groups is called the User Private Group (UPG) scheme. UPG is currently used on Red Hat and Fedora systems. The supplementary groups are additional groups that the user may want to belong to. Traditionally, users were all assigned to one group named users that would subject all users to the group permission controls for the users group. With UPG, each user has its own group, with its own group permissions.

0 0

Post a comment