The Structure of XF86Config

XFree86 uses a configuration file that's usually called one of three things:

1. /etc/X11/XF86Config-4

2. /etc/X11/XF86Config

3. /etc/XF86Config

XFree86 looks for the file in this order, so if your system has two or more of these files, edit the one that's earliest in the search order. Some distributions use /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 for the XFree86 4.x configuration file and /etc/X11/XF86Config for the XFree86 3.x configuration file, so the latter file's contents may not be suitable for XFree86 4.x. For simplicity's sake, I will refer to the XFree86 4.x configuration file as XF86Config throughout the rest of this chapter.

Broadly speaking, the XF86Config file contains three types of settings:

• Global settings that affect the overall behavior of the X server

• Sections that define the behavior of specific input/output components

• A layout section that merges together the component sections into a coherent whole

Each type of setting is contained within a section that's labeled, appropriately, Section, followed by a section name in quotes, as in Section "Files". Each of these sections ends with a line that reads EndSection. The order of sections in the file is unimportant.

0 0

Post a comment