In this chapter, we covered all five interactive controls: authentication, indemnification, subjugation, continuity, and resilience. All five enhance protection where there is no security but threats still need to be managed.

Authentication blocks or allows access based on particular criteria and the means of identifying that criteria. This extends to logins and passwords or parser-based scanners like antivirus scanners.

Indemnification is a control to recoup losses from an attack through legal means or insurance mediums. This control requires catching an attack when it's happening or being able to prove that it occurred so it can be stipulated as a liability or loss.

Subjugation is a control to predetermine the needs of the users and allow them to do anything within those guidelines. The source that controls the interaction cannot ever come into the user's control.

Continuity is a control for assuring a service is still available after a crisis. Continuity may fall under various categories, such as load balancing or redundancy, and span multiple channels, such as allowing users to access the service by phone if a web server is down.

Resiliency is a control to assure that a service fails securely. At the point of an attack, the service should not fail in a way that can be exploited or assets are exposed. Unfortunately, resiliency can also be a form of self-denial of service.

This page intentionally left blank

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Ultimate Computer Repair Guide

The Ultimate Computer Repair Guide

Read how to maintain and repair any desktop and laptop computer. This Ebook has articles with photos and videos that show detailed step by step pc repair and maintenance procedures. There are many links to online videos that explain how you can build, maintain, speed up, clean, and repair your computer yourself. Put the money that you were going to pay the PC Tech in your own pocket.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment