Adding or Editing Users

To edit users, select Security and UsersOUser Management. You will be presented with a list of (normal) users currently in the system (see Figure 9-20).

FIGURE 9-20

Listing the current users on the system

FIGURE 9-20

Listing the current users on the system

When the user list has loaded, you can either edit (select the user and press Edit) or create a new user.

To create a new user, "Justin Davies,'' do the following:

1. Click Add. You are presented with a dialog box very similar to what you see when you install SUSE, with YaST asking you about the user (see Figure 9-21).

2. To create the user, click Create. If you want to set specific settings for the user, you can select either Password Settings or Details.

You can change quite a few things about how the user's password is used in the system. Click Password Settings.

In Figure 9-22, you can see that you can set the amount of days before the user is warned of a password expiration (where they need to change their password), the amount of times the user can log in to his account after his password expires (use -1 to allow the user to always log in to his account once the password has expired), and the number of days the same password can be valid, along with the minimum. You can also set the amount of time the account itself is active.

Part II

Creating a new user

Creating a new user

FIGURE 9-22

Editing password settings

Editing password settings

For example, if you had a contractor on site for the next two weeks, you could set the expiration date to be two weeks in the future (in the format of YYYY-MM-DD).

To save the password settings, click Next.

To set specific account information for the user justin, click the Details button. You will be presented with a screen, shown in Figure 9-23, enabling you to change the User ID, home directory, the gecos field (a free-form field allowing you to enter any information about the user, such as his description and so forth), the default login shell, and also the user's default group, along with any other groups the user should be part of.

FIGURE 9-23

Changing account settings

FIGURE 9-23

Changing account settings

One of the most important parts of this section is the Additional Group Membership. If you have created other groups or are going to separate your users into specific groups, you can add the user to the group here. By default, normal users are associated with audio (to access the sound card), dialout (to access the modem), uucp (to access the terminal), and video (to access advanced features of the video card).

When you are happy with the settings for the user account, click Next. You are returned to the user information screen, where you can click Accept to save the user to the system.

To return to YaST, click Finish.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment