Changing the Default Runlevel

Runlevels are discussed in detail in Chapter 4. Basically, a system's runlevel determines the services that are automatically started when your system boots. The YaST Expert Installation Settings screen can be used to change the default runlevel of the system by clicking the Default Runlevel heading in YaST's Installation Settings panel or by clicking the Change button and selecting Default Runlevel from the pop-up menu.

As you can see in Figure 1-22, you can choose to boot your SUSE system in a variety of different ways: without networking functionality (runlevel 2), multiuser with network (runlevel 3), or multiuser with X Windows (runlevel 5). The default runlevel in a standard installation is runlevel 5, multiuser with the X Window system. That is what you need for a desktop system; for a server on which you do not intend to use a graphical interface, you can change this to runlevel 3.


Changing the default runlevel

openSUSE 11.0

1« Set CH

■fault Runlevel


/ Welcome j Sy*lelu Analysis <s Time Zone

- ^ - ------— _

/ Di".k1 tip SnUrCtlon

</ DIs«l

y LJ-inr SHlinq-i


► installation Overview

• Pi'itfjrin Irr lull;il»;•!


Amiable «tinia-rtii

A 2. I dcuI mulllusi'i without surnolt" net work ft 1; Full niulliutivi With nulvratk :'p Kill multiuser with network and display manager


—ranr*r flack WqV?*

When you make any changes that you want to your system's default runlevel, click Accept to set the selected runlevel as your system default. The Set Default Runlevel pop-up closes, and YaST's Installation Setting panel displays.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment