Shell scripts are discussed in Chapter 15.

The shell you use is assigned by the last field in your entry in the system's /etc/passwd file. This example, for a user named andrew, shows that the login shell is bash:


The default shell for most Linux distributions, including Ubuntu, is the GNU bash or Bourne Again SHell, but other shells, such as tcsh, ksh, and zsh are available for use. You can use a different shell by typing its name at the command line. Alternatively, the root operator might assign a user to another shell when creating that user account (see "Working as Root," later in this chapter).

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment